5000 Lindberg BLVD
Open 8am-12pm 7 days a week
Service Hours 7am-4pm
For Dispatch call (760) 373-8606
The animal control department offers the following services:
- Impoundment and care for animals that have misplaced their owners
- Adoption Program that places good animals into new homes. All animals that are adopted must be altered and if they are over four months of age they must have a rabies vaccination.
- Humane trapping program to control feral dogs, cats and wildlife. Dog licensing
The California City Animal Shelter staff will accept all animals. Owners will be required to fill out an OWNER RELEASE FORM that states they give up ownership of the animal they are turning in and a EUTHANASIA REQUEST FORM.
THE ANIMAL SHELTER STAFF WORKS WITH MANY RESCUES THROUGHOUT CALIFORNIA AND MOST OF THESE ANIMALS DO MAKE IT TO ADOPTION.
( 1) Dog(s) that bite people are put under QUARANTINE for 11 days. Quarantine can take place at the owners house OR local shelter. Dogs put under quarantine are watched for disease and/or abnormal behavior. Dogs that are under quarantine are NOT ALLOWED to be outside to go to the bathroom unless the owner has the dog on a leash. Once the dog is done using the bathroom the owner must IMMEDIATELY bring the dog back inside.
( 2) If the dog(s) escapes or is let off the property, the owner will be subjected to a fine not to exceed $500.00 or face imprisonment not to exceed 6 months. (Ordinance Code Of Kern County, Title 7, Section 7.08.100) plus the dog will be taken and quarantined at the shelter.
The City of California City, mandates the annual licensing of dogs within the city. The licensing of dogs is critical in assisting the City’s Animal Control in the prevention of rabies and other associated health problems. It also provides security for pet owners and enhances the general public health and safety of our citizens.
The City of California City strictly enforces the licensing of dogs as a health assurance to the public and as a safety and identification measure for your pet. Dog owners may be subject to fines if their pet remains unlicensed. Please remember to license your dog before June 30th, each year, to avoid penalties.
All dogs over 4 months old and living in California City over 30 days must be licensed. Owners of the pet must show documentation that their pet has received a rabies vacination at the time of licensing. Licenses may be obtained from the Police Department Front Counter, M-F, 8AM – 4PM. Licenses are also available at the Cal City Pet Clinic.
New License Fee: $65.00
Spayed or Neutered: $10.00